NILES SANKEY AMA [Destiny 2, Nyan Heroes, Halo]

Niles Sankey

Paragon
Hi, I am Niles Sankey! I have over 20 years of game development experience including some of your favorites like Halo and Destiny. I'm currently working on Nyan Heroes, a locomotion hero-shooter where cute cats pilot giant mechs.

I partnered with Exputer to do an AMA with you all. If you have any questions about being a design director in gaming, working on hits like Halo and Destiny, or creating the competitive hero shooter Nyan Heroes, let me know and I'll be answering today, tomorrow, and Friday!

Official Nyan Heroes Page: Nyan Heroes
X: x.com/nyanheroes
Discord: Join the Nyan Heroes Discord Server!

image_2024-07-31_173445675.png

A list of some of my credited work: Niles Sankey - MobyGames

Last edited:
Hi Niles. First of all huge fan of your work .

My question is how do you feel about the shift in game development from 2000s to 2020s. Things must've been different from when you were working on Halo as compared to Nyan Heroes or Destiny. With the advancement in technology have things gotten easier or harder? or are they still the same.

Also how do you feel about game development overall from when you first started to now

With Concord and Marvel Snap on the horizon, how will Nyan Heroes distinguish itself from the competition? These games appear quite similar in nature.

Do you think Nyan Heroes will attract an audience despite this competitive landscape?

Hey Sphinx.. thank you! Good question.

Yea, a lot has changed.

The industry was a lot smaller 25 years ago. As a result, the teams were typically smaller and the companies less corporate. During my time at Bungie, I saw this change happen in slow motion, right in front of my eyes. When I joined Bungie, we were 70 developers. When I left nine years later, the company was over 700. I started to miss the old days.